My Dominant Hemisphere

The Official Weblog of 'The Basilic Insula'

The Beginnings Of A New Era

leave a comment »

Cape Lion

It’s been well over a year since I had initially revamped the theme of my blog. At the time, I was mainly interested in improving compatibility with the web browser, Konqueror. The Digg theme worked well for me and I was pretty much happy with it overall. But after a couple of months anything gets boring! One of WordPress’s main strengths is the awesome collection of themes available. Some of these themes trickle down to WordPress’s hosting service, WordPress.com . It’s about time for a brand new theme, don’t you agree😀 ? I now bring to you a completely refreshing look for the blog. Gone is the large image header. The focus is on extreme simplicity and lack of clutter. Even the RSS icon has been done away with completely, leaving only a line of text to click on instead. I’m also sporting a new gravatar – a public domain image that I stumbled upon at Wikimedia Commons and that just absolutely blew me away the first time I saw it. It is a drawing by the Dutch artist Rembrandt Harmenszoon van Rijn of the now extinct Cape Lion (Panthera leo melanochaitus) made circa 1650-52 in Louvre, Paris. I thought, since one of the synonyms of my Arabic name ‘Firas’ (فراس) is ‘Asad’ (اسد) meaning ‘Lion’ in English, it couldn’t get any better!

I hope you like the new look. Do send in your feedback. Polls can be meaningless, with multiple votes. But hey, give it a try!

On a side note, I have now entered exam mode. Yet again! Oh well, just another byproduct of living life as a medic I suppose. My last entry was a little long. I think I’ll be cutting down on writing for a while. Fear not though! If there’s something that can’t wait to be written, you’ll hear about it asap🙂 !

Powered by ScribeFire.

Copyright © Firas MR. All rights reserved.

Written by Firas MR

August 13, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

